Quantcast

Is beer vegan? The short answer is usually yes. However, occasionally, cruelly produced ingredients are used in beer, such as milk (mostly in milk stouts) or honey. A few beers are also clarified using isinglass (made from fish bladders).

We've compiled this resource, not to make going vegan seem more daunting for those who want to give it a try but as a resource for people who want to make sure that they're not consuming any animal-derived ingredients.

1. Pabst Blue Ribbon

2. Blue Moon Belgian White

3. Guinness

We're glad Guinness realized that there are superior methods of filtering its beer than using isinglass and promised to phase it out by the end of 2016.

4. Golden Road Point the Way IPA

5. Anderson Valley Brewing Barney Flats Oatmeal Stout

6. Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale

7. Lagunitas Brewing Company IPA

8. Goose Island Sofie

9. Firestone Walker Brewing Company Union Jack IPA

10. Ommegang Witte Wheat Ale

11. North Coast Brewing Co. Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout

12. Widmer Brothers Hefe

13. Samuel Adams Boston Lager

Here are some honorable mentions, although the list isn't all-inclusive: Amstel, Amstel Light, Asahi, Bud Light, Budweiser, Coors, Corona, Dos Equis, Heineken, Keystone, Keystone Light, Kirin, Miller, Modelo, Negra Modelo, Pacifico, Sapporo and Yuengling.

Beers Produced With Isinglass

  • Red Stripe: When brewed in Jamaica, this beer uses isinglass, but Red Stripe brewed in Europe does not.
  • Newcastle: All Newcastle producers use isinglass in their filtering process.

Pro tip: At a bar and want to search a specific beer? Type the name into the Barnivore database for fast answers.

Please use this guide only if you're of legal drinking age and always drink responsibly!

EcoWatch Daily Newsletter

Sponsored
Sponsored