Quantcast
Pexels

By Makayla Meixner

Beer is a popular alcoholic drink that people worldwide have been enjoying for thousands of years (1Trusted Source).

Read More Show Less
Buckwheat is a grain-like seed that's unrelated to wheat and gluten-free. Marco Verch / Flickr / CC BY 2.0

By Rachael Link, MS, RD

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye. It provides elasticity, allows bread to rise and gives foods a chewy texture.

Read More Show Less

EcoWatch Daily Newsletter

beyond foto / Getty Images

By Kimberly Holland

Children who eat a lot of gluten in their earliest years may have an increased risk of developing celiac disease and gluten intolerance, according to a new study published in JAMA.

Read More Show Less
Pexels

By Kris Gunnars, BSc

Bread is a major part of the modern diet.

In fact, many people eat some type of bread with many of their meals.

Read More Show Less
Arx0nt / Moment / Getty Images

By Taylor Jones, RD

Oats are a highly nutritious grain with many health benefits.

Read More Show Less
Westend61 / Getty Images

By Rachael Link, MS, RD

For pasta lovers, going gluten-free may seem far more daunting than a simple diet modification.

Read More Show Less
Sponsored
KFC tests meatless chicken wings and nuggets in US

By George Citroner

With the growing popularity of meat-free eating, U.S. restaurant chain KFC has partnered with Beyond Meat to test a new plant-based "fried chicken" offering.

Read More Show Less
vaaseenaa / iStock / Getty Images

By Marsha McCulloch, MS, RD

If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, avoiding gluten is imperative (1).

Read More Show Less
JPM / Getty Images

Gluten is the collective name for a group of proteins found in grains like wheat, barley and rye.

Read More Show Less
Seitan. nclm / Wikimedia

By Erica Julson, MS, RDN, CLT

Seitan is a popular vegan substitute for meat.

Read More Show Less
Pexels

By Marsha McCulloch, MS, RD

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye and barley that those with celiac disease or an intolerance to gluten must be careful to avoid.

Read More Show Less
Sponsored
by [D.Jiang] / Moment / Getty Images

By Alena Kharlamenko

Tofu is a staple in vegetarian and vegan diets.

Read More Show Less
Linda Raymond / Moment / Getty Images

By Lizzie Streit, MS, RDN, LD

Dozens of varieties of bread line store shelves and fill cookbooks, though some are healthier than others.

Read More Show Less
Lara Hata / iStock / Getty Images

By SaVanna Shoemaker, MS, RDN, LD

Rice is a staple in many people's diets. It's filling, inexpensive, and a great mild-tasting addition to flavorful dishes.

Read More Show Less
Healthline

Made from the freshly sprouted leaves of Triticum aestivum, wheatgrass is known for its nutrient-dense and powerful antioxidant properties.

Read More Show Less
guitarfish / Flickr / CC BY-NC 2.0

By Elise Mandl, BSc, APD

Vegans avoid products that come from animals, including meat, eggs, dairy, and any other animal-derived foods or additives.

Read More Show Less
Pixabay

By Kerri-Ann Jennings, MS, RD

Whole grains have been a part of the human diet for tens of thousands of years (1).

Read More Show Less
T.Tseng / Flickr / CC BY 2.0

By Jillian Kubala, MS, RD

The Impossible Burger is a plant-based alternative to traditional meat-based burgers. It's said to mimic the flavor, aroma, and texture of beef.

Read More Show Less
nata_vkusidey / iStock / Getty Images

By Melissa Groves, RD

There are many reasons for wanting to incorporate meat substitutes into your diet, even if you're not following a vegan or vegetarian diet.